homeplugs

I think we all know by now what this section is for.
Post Reply
User avatar
ed
retired
Posts: 4267
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 4:01 pm
Location: yorkshire
Contact:

homeplugs

Post by ed » Tue Jan 14, 2020 8:28 pm

I'm not sure I've mentioned this before...

I run my audio setup through homeplugs. I've done this since 2005 when I first got a squeezebox as the NAS was in the attic. I tried wifi at the time but it kept dropping out, and the reception from the attic was flaky. So it's been homeplugs ever since.

Soooo.....I had a smart meter fitted around October time, which gave us one of those fancy usage monitors in the kitchen.

The point of this post is to mention that the homeplug link to the bosses laptop in the kitchen has been dropping out about 3 or 4 times a day since October.

coincidence?

I've since moved the NAS to the lounge and hardwired it to the router...but the laptop still drops out. I have to use the homeplug on the laptop because the wifi card has disappeared from the inventory. I suppose I could put a usb wifi dongle on the laptop...which is probably the next experiment.
There's nowhere you can be that isn't where you're meant to be

steve s
Shed dweller
Posts: 2109
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 6:19 pm
Location: east yorks

Re: homeplugs

Post by steve s » Tue Jan 14, 2020 9:20 pm

I've done my best to avoid a smart meter being installed Ed,
I don't know why but i keep telling them no..
The tube manual is quite like a telephone book. The number of it perfect. It is useful to make it possible to speak with a girl. But we can't see her beautiful face from the telephone number

simon
Eternally single
Posts: 4405
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 11:22 am
Location: People's Republic of South Yorkshire

Re: homeplugs

Post by simon » Tue Jan 14, 2020 9:22 pm

Our little laptop, which is 10 years old, lost the wi fi adapter a while back. I couldn't get it going again and intended to get a wi fi dongle, but I prevarocated and one day it worked again. No idea why, but you might get lucky ed!

simon
Eternally single
Posts: 4405
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 11:22 am
Location: People's Republic of South Yorkshire

Re: homeplugs

Post by simon » Tue Jan 14, 2020 9:23 pm

We're the same steve, but apparently we have to have one by the end of this year.

User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 18661
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

Re: homeplugs

Post by pre65 » Tue Jan 14, 2020 9:27 pm

simon wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 9:23 pm
We're the same steve, but apparently we have to have one by the end of this year.
The man who phoned about me having one could not understand my reluctance to have one, but I flatly refused the offer.
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)

User avatar
Nick
Site Admin
Posts: 12633
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:20 am
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: homeplugs

Post by Nick » Wed Jan 15, 2020 8:53 am

lost the wi fi adapter a while back.
May be worth (If you haven't done it) installing a WiFi snooper on a phone to see if there are any channel conflicts.
Resistance isn't futile it's V / I.

User avatar
ed
retired
Posts: 4267
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 4:01 pm
Location: yorkshire
Contact:

Re: homeplugs

Post by ed » Wed Jan 15, 2020 9:27 am

I used to check the channel usage quite regularly, just for fun, and to see how strong the neighbour's routers were.
It isn't that. The wifi adapter hardware has disappeared from the device list so I can't enable, disable, or update the driver because the unit doesn't exist.

so I'm left with the rj45 or nothing, unless I get a USB dongle.

I did some research a while back and it seems it's not uncommon for Acer laptops to lose their wifi card due to oxidised contacts. I'm loathe to open it up again because the last time I did, to install an SSD, I broke the keyboard ribbon contact keeper and she has to use an external keyboard now. There is only 2 inches access when you lift the keyboard off these laptops.....waily waily.
There's nowhere you can be that isn't where you're meant to be

User avatar
Nick
Site Admin
Posts: 12633
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:20 am
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: homeplugs

Post by Nick » Wed Jan 15, 2020 10:25 am

Its not disabled in hardware is it? My old laptop has a function key sequence that turns the wifi off above and beyond the OS.
Resistance isn't futile it's V / I.

steve s
Shed dweller
Posts: 2109
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 6:19 pm
Location: east yorks

Re: homeplugs

Post by steve s » Wed Jan 15, 2020 10:26 am

ed wrote:
Wed Jan 15, 2020 9:27 am
I'm loathe to open it up again because the last time I did, to install an SSD, I broke the keyboard ribbon contact keeper and she has to use an external keyboard now. There is only 2 inches access when you lift the keyboard off these laptops.....waily waily.
That brings back memories of the 90s when I'd just been given a new laptop for work.
I'd just made a coffee for elevenses and put it on the shelf above my desk on a pile of papers, a few mins later I was routing through the pile of papers next to it.... and the cup slipped off, the full cup when down the screen onto the keyboard !!
A loud pop and it went dead
I spent the next three days washing the sugar out of it and drying it
Luckily I did get it to work again but the keyboard was never right..

Anyway i survived the end of year redundancies, sadly an anual event at the time.
The tube manual is quite like a telephone book. The number of it perfect. It is useful to make it possible to speak with a girl. But we can't see her beautiful face from the telephone number

Post Reply