ADAT

I think we all know by now what this section is for.
Post Reply
User avatar
ed
retired
Posts: 3656
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 4:01 pm
Location: yorkshire
Contact:

ADAT

Post by ed » Sat Aug 04, 2018 10:09 am

does anybody know if any of the consumer DACs will accept ADAT input. Seems this detail is not on any product info, probably because they don't do it...but thought I'd ask, just in case.
There's nowhere you can be that isn't where you're meant to be

User avatar
Nick
Site Admin
Posts: 11409
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:20 am
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: ADAT

Post by Nick » Sat Aug 04, 2018 10:37 am

What's ADAT? (yes, I know I could look it up).
Resistance isn't futile it's V / I.

User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 17343
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

Re: ADAT

Post by pre65 » Sat Aug 04, 2018 12:09 pm

Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)

Neal
Needs to get out more
Posts: 1780
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 10:57 am

Re: ADAT

Post by Neal » Mon Aug 06, 2018 8:44 am

Looks like a proprietary multiplexed low bandwidth interface used in professional audio. Out of curiosity why the interest Ed?
Only the Sith deal in absolutes.

User avatar
ed
retired
Posts: 3656
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 4:01 pm
Location: yorkshire
Contact:

Re: ADAT

Post by ed » Mon Aug 06, 2018 2:17 pm

Neal wrote:
Mon Aug 06, 2018 8:44 am
Out of curiosity why the interest Ed?
because it's the best way of decoupling the DAW from the monitor amps. The inputs on my echo layla 3g are quiet enough but the analog outputs have always been touchy about the amps they are connected to. For the last 10 years I've used the spdif into one amp via an outboard DAC, which is silent and one of the analog outs into another amp for nearfield monitor, which is noisy. I want another silent out and this means using the ADAT.

As usual it means I'll have to put my hand in my pocket. I thought I might get away with a cheap solution but alas not. It does mean that I'll acquire anouther 8 inputs with phantom power, which is always a bonus.
There's nowhere you can be that isn't where you're meant to be

Wolfgang
User
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon May 07, 2018 3:08 pm

Re: ADAT

Post by Wolfgang » Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:24 pm

What about a video distribution amp for splitting the SPDIF? It will give you identical 75R impedance outputs for feeding two DACs.
It could work and would be cheap.

User avatar
Nick
Site Admin
Posts: 11409
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 10:20 am
Location: West Yorkshire

Re: ADAT

Post by Nick » Thu Aug 09, 2018 5:32 pm

But you haven't got a spdiff ata stream, thats the problem. It would be a job for a fpga or cpld dev board with the right hardware to logic interfaces. And a copy of the ADAT protocol.
Resistance isn't futile it's V / I.

User avatar
ed
retired
Posts: 3656
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 4:01 pm
Location: yorkshire
Contact:

Re: ADAT

Post by ed » Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:52 pm

thanks for the input chaps....

however I haven't a clue what all these new acronyms mean and I'm sure it'll shed little light on the subject if I google them all. I'm not at all sure we're on the same page here.....

I don't want the same output out of the digital outputs...the point of multiple outputs in the digital interface is so that you can assign different tracks to different busses and then the busses to different output channels for mixing... I also utilise this facility for monitor amps as it's so easy to switch outputs......

this whole dilemma started when I intoduced a valve amp into the mix and moved to passive monitors back in 2006.....valve amps, bad move....snigger

I now find I want to use more digital outputs, but because I'm a cheapskate I thought I'd see if there was a budget solution... I'm now pretty sure there isn't....

but thanks for thinking about it.
There's nowhere you can be that isn't where you're meant to be

Post Reply