uTracer 400V upgrade kit available...

If they glow, this is the place to be
User avatar
jack
Social outcast
Posts: 3123
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: No longer living somewhere stupidly hot...
Contact:

uTracer 400V upgrade kit available...

Post by jack » Sat Apr 11, 2015 6:33 pm

Upgrades a uTracer3 to a 400V uTracer3+

http://www.dos4ever.com/uTracer3/uTracer3_pag11.html

Only 15 euros including delivery...

User avatar
Paul Barker
No idea why I do this anymore
Posts: 6960
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 9:42 pm

Post by Paul Barker » Sat Apr 11, 2015 7:35 pm

Brilliantl
I can do it right or I can do it now, but I can't do it right now.

User avatar
jack
Social outcast
Posts: 3123
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: No longer living somewhere stupidly hot...
Contact:

Post by jack » Thu Apr 16, 2015 9:53 am

Ordered it a few days ago - will post results.

The uTracer V4 project is on hold as Ronald has doubts about the approach he was taking and wants some time to re-evaluate his design.

Reading his blog is really interesting - he's obviously a superb engineer, but he's a good teacher too - I find he explains his reasoning extremely well and the background tutorial sections are very well put together and informative.

User avatar
Paul Barker
No idea why I do this anymore
Posts: 6960
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 9:42 pm

Post by Paul Barker » Thu Apr 16, 2015 1:24 pm

I broke mine again, but he is so busy that his family can't fix it for me as I asked( he offered last time but I wasn't stacked out with work then so it it myself).

Nick G if you are reading this can you fix it and fit the upgrade for me at labour charge, or are you stacked out also?
I can do it right or I can do it now, but I can't do it right now.

User avatar
jack
Social outcast
Posts: 3123
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: No longer living somewhere stupidly hot...
Contact:

Post by jack » Thu Apr 16, 2015 1:40 pm

What have you done to it?

User avatar
Paul Barker
No idea why I do this anymore
Posts: 6960
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 9:42 pm

Post by Paul Barker » Thu Apr 16, 2015 9:30 pm

I think I just give it too much work to do, one, more than one, or maybe like last time, all of the transistors on one channel blown. So I have to use the screen channel and obviously can't power a screen.
I can do it right or I can do it now, but I can't do it right now.

User avatar
jack
Social outcast
Posts: 3123
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: No longer living somewhere stupidly hot...
Contact:

Post by jack » Fri Apr 17, 2015 3:32 pm

Kit arrived today.

32 components including 2 power semiconductors and two largish 100uF/450V nichicon (i.e. good quality) caps. All in little sealed & labelled bags.

Inclusive of delivery from Holland, 15 euros !

Excellent service. 10/10 :)

http://dos4ever.com/uTracerlog/conversion.html

Paul - if I had time I'd fix it for you but am under pressure from SWMBO & rest of family over too many other projects ATM.

If there's no real hurry, I might be able to in a few weeks...

User avatar
Paul Barker
No idea why I do this anymore
Posts: 6960
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 9:42 pm

Post by Paul Barker » Fri Apr 17, 2015 6:15 pm

Thanks we'll see how time pans out.
I can do it right or I can do it now, but I can't do it right now.

User avatar
jack
Social outcast
Posts: 3123
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: No longer living somewhere stupidly hot...
Contact:

Post by jack » Sat Apr 18, 2015 9:47 pm

Done the upgrade. Bl**ding tricky - really strained my eyes...

Not too complex, just fiddly. Took about 1.5 hours...

The "3+" variant (all newly shipped uTracers are "v3+") allows B+ of 400V.

RobW
User
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 8:51 am
Location: North Wales

Post by RobW » Sun Apr 19, 2015 11:10 am

Hi, sounds like an interesting project to tackle. Am not familiar with it so had a quick scan of the website but couldn’t find a simple explanation of what it does in its entirety. Am wandering, can it be used to test output tube’s performance under simulated load conditions, for instance differing reflected impedances, or is it just a general tube tester, plotter?

Thanks Rob

User avatar
Paul Barker
No idea why I do this anymore
Posts: 6960
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 9:42 pm

Post by Paul Barker » Sun Apr 19, 2015 6:04 pm

Plotter.

You can't simulate a load.

You can place a load line on the characteristic curves however.
I can do it right or I can do it now, but I can't do it right now.

User avatar
jack
Social outcast
Posts: 3123
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: No longer living somewhere stupidly hot...
Contact:

Post by jack » Sun Apr 19, 2015 6:52 pm

"What is the uTracer and what can it do?":

http://www.dos4ever.com/uTracer3/uTracer3_pag1.html

User avatar
Paul Barker
No idea why I do this anymore
Posts: 6960
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 9:42 pm

Post by Paul Barker » Sun Apr 19, 2015 7:53 pm

Ok I'm very slow at admin. I have sent the money by PayPal and asked if I could have the three suspect transistors which I blew up last time.

Probably best change those anyway first and try it as original before upgrading it.
I can do it right or I can do it now, but I can't do it right now.

User avatar
jack
Social outcast
Posts: 3123
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: No longer living somewhere stupidly hot...
Contact:

Post by jack » Tue Apr 21, 2015 2:23 pm

Got the uTracer out in its 3+ upgraded mode. Photo shows it characterising a 6H17B-V Russian sub-miniature dual triode... other photo is of a NIB JAN 6021W USA sub-miniature dual triode - this plot is almost identical to the Ratheon datasheet on Frank's site (as one would hope!).
Attachments
20150421_140003a.jpg
uTracer3+ undergoing sea trials...
NIB JAN  6021W.jpg
Raytheon JAN 6021W sub-miniature dual triode characterisation

User avatar
Paul Barker
No idea why I do this anymore
Posts: 6960
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 9:42 pm

Post by Paul Barker » Sun Apr 26, 2015 7:38 pm

Doesn't look too difficult a conversion.

The added work of changing two extra transistors in my case won't be significant. So for the first time in a year or so I have fired up the iron.

The de soldering Brady I have in stock seems absolute pants, either they never fluxes it or that has degraded. The copper also seems tarnished. Have used much better in the past.

So my return to diy is a slow one, but at least I have begun. I'll only be able to snatch 10 minutes or perhaps a little more and that not every day, so don't expect a trace for a while.

But work has begun with the removal of the blown transistors and the clean up of the pads to receive new ones. All be it with stubborn braid.

Can't see anything difficult about the conversion though.
I can do it right or I can do it now, but I can't do it right now.

Post Reply