Dear Marge

If they glow, this is the place to be
Cressy Snr
Amstrad Tower of Power

#1 Dear Marge

Post by Cressy Snr »

Dear Marge,

Sorting my valves out yesterday, I discovered I had 16 PL519.

Just looking at them gave me the creeps. Why? Because I have now got the hankering to breadboard a Rozenblit Transcendent OTL, just to see what it is really like.

I have most of the bits, including a big pair of 40v toroids for the heaters on each bank. I am a much more experienced builder than the last time I attempted something like this. Just need a few more magnoval sockets.

The intention may be to build the 25 Watt version with four tubes per channel.
But I made such a balls-up of it last time that even looking at those beastly top-capped power tetrodes set off the butterflies.

Should I leave well alone or confront my daemons head on, risking burned fingers and public humiliation.

Hope you can sort this dilemma Marge.

Sincerely
Steve.
Sgt. Baker started talkin’ with a Bullhorn in his hand.
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power

Post by pre65 »

There is only one answer, especially if you have most of the bits.

GO FOR IT !! :)

You've come a long way since the last OTL experiment. :wink:
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

Edmund Burke

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)
steve s
Shed dweller

Post by steve s »

well steve, was it 4 weeks without a new project ?

and the forum has been quieter without you having a project
be nice to hear an otl in novemeber.
The tube manual is quite like a telephone book. The number of it perfect. It is useful to make it possible to speak with a girl. But we can't see her beautiful face from the telephone number
Ali Tait
Eternally single

Post by Ali Tait »

Seconded. Go for it Steve!
Cressy Snr
Amstrad Tower of Power

Post by Cressy Snr »

steve s wrote:well steve, was it 4 weeks without a new project ?

and the forum has been quieter without you having a project