Valves

If they glow, this is the place to be
Andy831
User

#1 Valves

Post by Andy831 »

I realised today that I hoard valves.

Lots of valves that I don't know if I will ever use really.

Is this an illness or something, why would I hoard valves that I don't think I will ever use? I mean I am not even technically able to build amps being a complete novice.

I went from one small box, to a big box, to now two big boxes. Another 24 due to arrive in the next day or so.

I just covet them, they are beautiful peices of "art" to me.

Am I going "nuts" or admit it, are we all the same?

Andy
al newall
Needs to get out more

Post by al newall »

Andy.

Hoarding valves is normal practice. Though you'll probably get bombarded with requests, now you've advertised the fact.

While you may not feel able to build anything just yet. It's only a matter of time.
I'm not the only person here who knew nothing about tubes a few years ago.
Still don't know much, but i can read a diagram and successfully build an amp now.
Eventually the mumbo jumbo will sink in and you'll pluck up the nerve to do something. Then you won't look back. Enjoy.
Paul Barker
Social Sevices have been notified

Post by Paul Barker »

It is fairly normal behaviour.

I have now picked up a trend for many valve prices to fall. Take the 6l6 as a good example, these are fetching vertually nothing not worth the bother of listing. I actually paid more for mine as equipment pulls up to 8 years ago than they would sell for today.

45's haven't gone up at all in all that time.

Such as ecc81's and 2's have levelled out they had a spurt maybe 5 years ago but are today at that same price. Even 83's which went up massively from £5 to £40 in just a few years are levelling back down again.

So my advice is don't go mad, eventually you will settle on what you want to use for your lifetime, make sure you have that in the bag and then find some other form of gambling, this way is too dodgy.