Magnetic pull kevlar suspension tonearm

Love it or hate it, it just won't stop
Paul Barker
Social Sevices have been notified

#1 Magnetic pull kevlar suspension tonearm

Post by Paul Barker »

Well a very nice chap one Eggbough gave me an apple wand he had turned me on his laithe.

Layed it on my deck to let you see the scale of it. Looks rather large. No complaints about it handling a 103! or an SPU (which I forgot to mension I originally intended it for.

Anyway in this day and age I am not a man with the ability to search the end;ess threads on building this type of arm. So I did a very low level search and found out what I already decided about the hwole concept first time those many years when I studied it with a fine tooth comb amd discussed by telephone with my greta ideas ouncing mate Darren.

In a nutshell Will's method will suffice. two outriggers fine kevlar twisted for antiscate. end of.
"Two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I am not yet completely sure about the universe." – Albert Einstein
Paul Barker
Social Sevices have been notified

#2 Re: Magnetic pull kevlar suspension tonearm

Post by Paul Barker »

I'll keep this alive. Its quite hard to pull together the smatterings of prior art on this technique as its had its hayday of diy experimenters amd gone quiet. loads of dead links about.

Will spoke of keflar thread which was 15lb. Most kevlar is way over that. But did will miprint that, did he mean 15kg? who knows!

So, the strand of kevlar is significant, too strong and you probably might aswell go unipivot, to weak and you trash a cartridge when it breaks. (unless you manage to design a want catcher thta stays out of way but averts disaster.