Squeezebox question.

I think we all know by now what this section is for.
Post Reply
User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 16828
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: Ashen Sudbury Suffolk

Squeezebox question.

Post by pre65 » Tue Jun 03, 2014 8:21 pm

I transferred my music files to a notebook computer, then used a LAN cable to connect the notebook directly to the Squeezebox.


I did install Logitech media server on the notebook.


The Squeezebox would not read the notebook. :?
People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within
Dr Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)

User avatar
The Stratmangler
Needs to get out more
Posts: 1553
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Rossendale, Lancashire

Post by The Stratmangler » Tue Jun 03, 2014 8:33 pm

Some, but not all LAN ports can deal with a direct connection without the use of a crossover cable.
If your LAN ports cannot deal with it you'll need a crossover cable.
You'll also need to ensure that your notebook and your Squeezebox are in the same IP range.

When you've got the devices capable of talking to each other you'll then need to point the Squeezebox at the server program you've installed on the notebook.

It's far simpler to wire the notebook and the Squeezebox to your router and let the router deal with the IP addressing.
The Squeezebox should be ok working wirelessly on your network too.
It is not recommended to have 2 wireless connections in the player/server connection.
Chris :happy3:

Neal
Needs to get out more
Posts: 1655
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 10:57 am

Post by Neal » Tue Jun 03, 2014 10:42 pm

Yes, most likely Phil your notebook ethernet port is set to obtain its IP address via DHCP or automatically, the same is probably true for the Touch. You can either do as Chris has said and use a router to assign the address or assign them manually to the Touch and notebook, something along the lines of 192.168.1.2 for the touch and 192.168.1.3 for the notebook with a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0 on each.

Then just configure the Touch to find the LMS at address 192.168.1.3

It reads worse than it is in practice to setup ;) If you bring it to Owston we can set it up for you....

User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 16828
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: Ashen Sudbury Suffolk

Post by pre65 » Wed Apr 15, 2015 7:26 pm

Another question.

I've read about the Enhanced Digital Output app for Squeezebox.

It seems (from what I've read) that it's main use is for USB DACs. Is that right ?
People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within
Dr Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)

User avatar
The Stratmangler
Needs to get out more
Posts: 1553
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Rossendale, Lancashire

Post by The Stratmangler » Wed Apr 15, 2015 9:14 pm

Nope!
EDO works just as well on the coaxial SPDIF output too.
In fact it's a damned sight more reliable with the coaxial rather than the USB connection.
The USB can prove extremely challenging with pieces of kit which are not designed to work natively with Linux (the Touch run Linux).
Chris :happy3:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest