TDA7293 chip amps

For the three and more legged things
Post Reply
User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 17217
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

TDA7293 chip amps

Post by pre65 » Fri Jul 26, 2013 10:58 am

I have a few TDA7293 amp chips in my spares box.

Are they worth playing with ? Not for hi-fi use I hasten to add. :wink:

http://pdf1.alldatasheet.com/datasheet- ... A7293.html

There are PCBs for them on e-bay quite cheap. :)
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)

JamesD
Old Hand
Posts: 607
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 4:26 pm
Location: North Yorkshire

Post by JamesD » Fri Jul 26, 2013 12:09 pm

Hi Phil,

this is a nice little chip amp if used properly and it can be used in parallel to drive complex loads successfully.

Here is a brief page about how to use it http://www.rotgradpsi.de/mc/amp51/amp51 ... tfall.html

I've heard this run off against the popular LM3886. It isn't going to match the 833 :D but it is a decent little amp when used properly...

J

brig001
Old Hand
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 9:56 pm
Location: Back home in Preston now

Re: TDA7293 chip amps

Post by brig001 » Fri Jul 26, 2013 4:34 pm

pre65 wrote:Not for hi-fi use I hasten to add. :wink:
Go one then Philip, I'll bite. What do you want to use them for :shock:

Brian

User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 17217
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

Post by pre65 » Fri Jul 26, 2013 5:02 pm

I was thinking of an amp for the television, as the built in speakers are crap, with a capital K. :wink:

But the problem is, a decent toroid for the PSU would probably cost more than a cheapo stereo amp off e-bay. :(

Now where oh where is my old T amp ? :lol:
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)

brig001
Old Hand
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 9:56 pm
Location: Back home in Preston now

Post by brig001 » Fri Jul 26, 2013 5:39 pm

I suppose it depends how much power you need. The chip will work down to +/-12V which will give nearly 9W into 8 ohms. A 12-0-12 transformer will give more and shouldn't be too expensive. Why toroid? An EI core will be cheaper; the whole PSU should be less than £20 even if you had to buy everything new.

User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 17217
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

Post by pre65 » Fri Jul 26, 2013 5:44 pm

In that case my 0-18v + 0-18v toroid will do. :)
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)

JamesD
Old Hand
Posts: 607
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 4:26 pm
Location: North Yorkshire

Post by JamesD » Fri Jul 26, 2013 5:59 pm

Phil,

Use a Laptop smps :D

Ok use four of them....

J

brig001
Old Hand
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 9:56 pm
Location: Back home in Preston now

Post by brig001 » Fri Jul 26, 2013 6:00 pm

That should do the job. Not sure you need all that power though, but if the parts are free, why not 8)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests