TDA7293 chip amps

For the three and more legged things
Post Reply
User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 17254
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

TDA7293 chip amps

Post by pre65 » Fri Jul 26, 2013 10:58 am

I have a few TDA7293 amp chips in my spares box.

Are they worth playing with ? Not for hi-fi use I hasten to add. :wink:

http://pdf1.alldatasheet.com/datasheet- ... A7293.html

There are PCBs for them on e-bay quite cheap. :)
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)

JamesD
Old Hand
Posts: 607
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 4:26 pm
Location: North Yorkshire

Post by JamesD » Fri Jul 26, 2013 12:09 pm

Hi Phil,

this is a nice little chip amp if used properly and it can be used in parallel to drive complex loads successfully.

Here is a brief page about how to use it http://www.rotgradpsi.de/mc/amp51/amp51 ... tfall.html

I've heard this run off against the popular LM3886. It isn't going to match the 833 :D but it is a decent little amp when used properly...

J

brig001
Old Hand
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 9:56 pm
Location: Back home in Preston now

Re: TDA7293 chip amps

Post by brig001 » Fri Jul 26, 2013 4:34 pm

pre65 wrote:Not for hi-fi use I hasten to add. :wink:
Go one then Philip, I'll bite. What do you want to use them for :shock:

Brian

User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 17254
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

Post by pre65 » Fri Jul 26, 2013 5:02 pm

I was thinking of an amp for the television, as the built in speakers are crap, with a capital K. :wink:

But the problem is, a decent toroid for the PSU would probably cost more than a cheapo stereo amp off e-bay. :(

Now where oh where is my old T amp ? :lol:
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)

brig001
Old Hand
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 9:56 pm
Location: Back home in Preston now

Post by brig001 » Fri Jul 26, 2013 5:39 pm

I suppose it depends how much power you need. The chip will work down to +/-12V which will give nearly 9W into 8 ohms. A 12-0-12 transformer will give more and shouldn't be too expensive. Why toroid? An EI core will be cheaper; the whole PSU should be less than £20 even if you had to buy everything new.

User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 17254
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

Post by pre65 » Fri Jul 26, 2013 5:44 pm

In that case my 0-18v + 0-18v toroid will do. :)
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)

JamesD
Old Hand
Posts: 607
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 4:26 pm
Location: North Yorkshire

Post by JamesD » Fri Jul 26, 2013 5:59 pm

Phil,

Use a Laptop smps :D

Ok use four of them....

J

brig001
Old Hand
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 9:56 pm
Location: Back home in Preston now

Post by brig001 » Fri Jul 26, 2013 6:00 pm

That should do the job. Not sure you need all that power though, but if the parts are free, why not 8)

Post Reply