Request for input and feedback on a circuit idea

What people are working on at the moment
RhythMick
Old Hand

#1 Request for input and feedback on a circuit idea

Post by RhythMick »

Having recently built SE amps for myself and my brother (5842/IT/45) which I'm pretty pleased with I'm next thinking about an all-DHT amp and quite likely Class A push-pull. I don't have a lot of experience, and NONE at all with push-pull, though I have built fully balanced differential amps and pre amps with balanced power supplies. Not a COMPLETE beginner, but green enough to need regular input from folks with a lot more experience.

Anyway, thinking about Class A push-pull. I love the balanced topology and a LTP with a CCS in the tail (another new area for me) feels like a good way to go. Lots of reading later (Morgan Jones, Merlin Blencowe and lots more) and I'm getting ready to get started. One question I have in my head is how to balance up the valves in the pair if they are not quite balanced, as is likely with some of the older valves. We want identical DC currents through the valves, right, to avoid output transformer core saturation ?

The latest SE amps I built were fixed bias, applied through the interstage transfomer secondary and I made trimmers accessible with safety measuring posts so we can keep the amps tuned to run 30mA through the valves, by adjusting the grid bias. That got me thinking that I could maybe use the same mechanism with the 1+1:1+1 interstages for the PP amp. I've crudely drawn it up and would appreciate comments - even if they are "don't be stupid" ... :|
Push Pull Fixed Bias.jpg
So the CCS in the tail will try to keep 60mA flowing while the + and - phases are applied to the grids. Tuning the valves would be a matter of adjusting the trimmers and therefore the grid bias of each valve while measuring the voltage drop across 10R sense resisters in the 45 cathodes (not on the diagram, sorry), to achieve 30mA through each valve.