3 wire fans

We all start somewhere
Post Reply
User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 17600
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

3 wire fans

Post by pre65 » Thu Mar 23, 2017 6:48 pm

Can 3 wire computer fans be used with just 2 wires (ie black & red) ?
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)

SteveH
User
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 4:46 am
Location: Whangarei,in my mess.

Re: 3 wire fans

Post by SteveH » Thu Mar 23, 2017 8:07 pm

Yes, the third wire is a tacho output.

User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 17600
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

Re: 3 wire fans

Post by pre65 » Thu Mar 23, 2017 8:35 pm

Thanks.

3 wire ones are easier to source, and cheaper for the size I need.
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)

User avatar
jack
Social outcast
Posts: 3136
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:58 pm
Location: No longer living somewhere stupidly hot...
Contact:

Re: 3 wire fans

Post by jack » Wed Mar 29, 2017 12:11 pm


User avatar
pre65
Amstrad Tower of Power
Posts: 17600
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: North Essex

Re: 3 wire fans

Post by pre65 » Fri Mar 31, 2017 1:53 pm

Thanks Nick, most helpful.
Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans. John Lennon

G-Popz THE easy listening connoisseur. (Philip)

Post Reply